Minecraft for Xbox 360 Sells 3 Million Copies

My brothers love playing Minecraft. If you don’t know what Minecraft is, it’s an online sandbox game where you build all sorts of things and fight monsters that come out at night. Anyway, my brothers started playing it last year on the computer and bought the Xbox version of the game back in May. The Xbox version is quite popular apparently, as the game has sold over 3 million copies since it’s launch.

The sale numbers were announced on Twitter today by Minecraft’s creator, Markus Persson. What makes the triple platinum feat so impressive in my opinion is the fact that Minecraft is a downloadable title. Generally, I don’t see downloadable games selling as much as hardcopy games (with some casual games, such as Angry Birds, being the exception). The sales numbers for Minecraft suggest otherwise, however, so I may be wrong.

All though I don’t play Minecraft, I can see why it’s so popular. The game features a multiplayer mode that allows gamers to play with each other online. Combine that with Minecraft’s open-world gameplay and you got players making their own fun together for who knows how long. My brothers and friends keep suggesting that I should play Minecraft, so perhaps it’s time that I join them.

Leave a Reply

