Man Dies After Playing Diablo 3 for 40 Hours

They say that too much of a good thing can do you harm; and while I do agree with that statement, I’ve never really given it much thought. This is especially true when it comes to my favorite hobby: playing video games. After recent a recent event that happened two days ago, however, I can see where the saying comes from. A Taiwanese man, who has only been identified by his surname Chuang, has died in from playing Diablo 3 for 40 hours straight.

According to The Australian, the 18-year-old booked a private room at a café in Tainan, Taiwan on July 13th. He then proceeded to play Diablo 3 for nearly 2 days, without stopping to eat or sleep. On July 15th, a café employee found Chuang sleeping and woke him up. Chuang walked a few steps, but then collapsed and was take to a hospital. He was pronounced dead shortly after his arrival.

Police are currently investigating the cause of his death and speculate that sitting for hours may have caused heart problems for Chuang. It makes sense when you think about it. He was play a video game for 40 hours straight after all!

All though I know the situation is rather sad, I don’t understand how someone can play a video game for nearly 2 days straight. Yes, I do play video games for long periods of time, but I generally start to feel uncomfortable after sitting for an hour or two. I don’t see how the man went without sleep or food for so long either. Make me go a day without the two and I’m one mean jerk! Nevertheless, my heart goes out to Chuang’s friends and family.

How long do you usually play video games for? Do you think you could play for 40 hour straight?

Leave a Reply

